NashvilleSmashville

This weekend my good friend from nursing school and I visited Nashville.  Neither one of us has been before and about a month ago decided we should meet up in a new city and explore. So that’s exactly what we did. The city was filled with bachelor/bachelorette parties, southern food, Predator fans, and craft beer. Crisp 55 degree weather made it a great escape from the very warm Miami “winter.” Here are some of my favorite parts:

1.Wall art: It’s everywhere. Obviously we took pictures with every one we ran into.

2. Craft beer: I recently, over the past few years, have really started to enjoy beer.  We went on a tour of brewstillery and sampled some whiskey (still hate it). The next day we went to two breweries and took a tour of one. Both Yazoo and Jackalope breweries were fun and serve delicious beer. The local bars tend to have great selections as well.

3. Live music: Before I left my cousin told me “You’re going to think the bar you’re in has the best live music and not want to leave, but every bar has the best live music so keeping going!” She was right. Great live music (mostly country as expected) is heard at every bar and restaurant in Lower Broadway and many places around the city. Even the airport bar!

17021601_1497793723564722_6457355605532711009_n

Make sure if you visit to enjoy lots of Southern food! Great biscuits, burgers, and hot chicken are all over the city. The Country Music Hall of Fame and Grand Ole Opry show were other favorite activities of the trip that didn’t involve food or beer.

What I am figuring out:

  • It’s always worth it to take a weekend to catch up with friends. Adding exploring a new city to the mix makes it even better. We all need a break from the real world. And friends.
  • I like biscuits and gravy wayyyyy more than I realized.

-Steph

Leave a comment